The Clerk is the Local Registrar for all births, marriages and deaths occurring within the County.
The Clerk provides same day issuance of certifications of all vital records to qualified applicants. The birth and death records date back to 1878 and our marriages date back to 1839.
Who May Obtain A Certified Copy?
Because of the confidential nature of these records, Illinois Statutes provide that copies of death records may be obtained by:
- A person having a personal or property right interest in the record or by his duly authorized agent, and this statement must be included in the written, signed request.
- A person having a genealogical interest if record is over 20 years old.
Please note: Absolutely no information about a specific record can be given over the telephone regarding Vital Records.
In addition, under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death, or marriage certificates. The Christian County Clerk’s Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. Vital Records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
Individuals must be 18 years or older to obtain a death record.
What You Need:
1.) Did The Death Occur In Christian County? We only have death records either for individuals who died in Christian County.
2.) You MUST complete a Death Record Request Form.
3.) You MUST provide Proof of Identity
Acceptable forms of ID are:
- Valid Drivers License
- A Driver’s License that is no more than six months expired along with one more piece of documentation with your current name is acceptable.
- Note:You can’t use this option for online order through VitalChek.com
- Valid State Issued ID
- Valid Firearm’s Owner ID
- Valid U.S. Passport
- Valid Military ID
- Incarcerated or recently released inmates can submit a copy of their prison intake/offender summary sheet containing a photo.
or THREE of the following:
- Valid Voter Registration Card.
- W2 Form (Most Recent)
- Valid Public Assistance Medical Card
- Bank Statement (Most Recent)
- Utility bills or postmarked mail with your name printed on it.
- MUST have been received in the the last 30 days
- Vehicle Registration Card
- Recent Voided Check
- Recent Credit Card Statement
- Recent Paycheck Stub with Name and Address
To Request A Death Certificate
In Office or By Mail:
1st Copy Additional Copies
Certified Death Record $22.00 $10.00
Click here to download the Death Record Request form. You may mail or bring this form into our office with a valid ID.
Cash, Check, and Money Order accepted in the office – NO DEBIT OR CREDIT CARDS.
1st Copy Additional Copies *Service Fee
Certified Death Record $22.00 $10.00 $10.00
Click here to request Certified Death Record from Official Records Online (ORO) Portal. A ten dollar additional fee will be charged for this service. All major credit cards and debit cards are accepted.
*Please Note: The Service Fee remains only $10.00 whether you order one or more documents at the same time. Once the transaction is completed, future orders will again charge an additional $10.00 Service Fee.
Vital Records Guideline
The Christian County Clerk’s Office will only release certified copies or certifications of vital records, upon written request, to individuals who are authorized or entitled to receive them. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
NOTE: Any person who, willfully and knowingly uses or attempts to use, or furnishes to another to use, for any purpose of deception, any certificate, record, report, or certified copy thereof so made, altered, amended, or mutilated; or Any person who with the intention to deceive, willfully uses or attempts to use any certificate of birth or certified copy of a record of birth knowing that such certificate or certified copy was issued upon a record that is false in whole or in part or that relates to the birth of another person, is guilty of a Class 4 felony in the State of Illinois.
Eligibility for “Genealogical” — White Non-Certified Copies
This office will issue these copies for genealogical purposes, subject to staff availability during the time leading up to any election. The indexes (for all vital records on file prior to 1916) are open to the public. All searches after 1916 must be done by our staff. The fee for this copy is $5 for the first copy of a record and $2 for any additional copies of the same record, if you have all of the information provided on your request. All genealogical copies will be clearly marked with a “Genealogical Purposes Only” stamp.